Montana State University-Northern
300 W 11th St.
Havre, MT 59501
(406) 265-3704
Accrediting Agency:
Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities

Founded in 1929, Montana State University – Northern is located in Havre, Mont. Prior to joining the Montana University System, the university was known as Northern Montana College. Today, the university operates as a public, coeducational teaching institution and enrolls more than 1,200 students. U.S. News and World Report ranks the university No. 25 among Regional Colleges (West) and No. 6 among Top Public Schools. The vision of the university is to provide a supportive, student-centered environment that provides a unique mix of classes to prepare students for various workforce needs.

Programs Offered

Degree programs at Montana State University – Northern focus on technology and liberal arts. Students can study in business, nursing, engineering and mechanical technology, teacher education, natural sciences, and humanities. Online students can choose from four degree programs that are completely online. The university offers a Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice, and a Master of Education Instruction and Learning. Through the Desire2Learn online learning system, students will be able to access their class materials and participate in classroom discussions. The online programs are specifically designed to meet the needs of the adult learners that are not able to meet on campus.


Montana State University – Northern has been accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities since 1932.


Undergraduate students applying to the university need to submit their application, application fee, immunization records, high school transcripts, and ACT or SAT scores. Graduate students must follow a similar application process as undergraduate students. Graduate students are expected to submit their undergraduate transcripts and have at least a 3.0 GPA on their last 60 credit hours. Students that live in Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming are eligible to participate in the Western Undergraduate Exchange Program.

The Best Colleges Degree Finder

© 2016 The Best Colleges | Privacy Policy | Sitemap